The primary inferior court of judicature is the Magistrate’s Court. Pursuant to the Courts Act, Act No 31 of 1965, Sierra Leone is constituted into Judicial Districts and Section 4 of the Act states that there shall be constituted Magistrate’s Court in and for every judicial district. Magistrate’s Courts have limited jurisdiction. Subject to their limitations, Section 8 of the Courts Act, 1965 provides that the Magistrate’s Court shall have the jurisdiction to do all lawful acts necessary to enquire into and dispose of or to hear and determine all civil and criminal matters arising within the district, area or place for which it is established or transferred to it by the High Court. Such jurisdiction is to be exercised by the Magistrate duly appointed to such courts.